America has spoken, the votes have been tallied, and a new Cy-Hawk trophy has been chosen. The winning statue is depicts the in-state rival school’s mascots, Herky the Hawkeye and Cy the Cardinal holding up a brass football in front of a backdrop of corn. The square base of the trophy will memorialize the scores of all past and future games between the Hawkeyes and Cyclones.

The new trophy was the top vote getter by a wide margin in a public vote of three designs. The winning trophy received 8002 votes, the second place trophy (a bronze football emerging from a cornhusk) received only 1453 votes. The third place trophy (a bronze football atop smoked glass etched with corn) received a mere 846 votes.

This Cy-Hawk trophy is a second effort of the Iowa Corn Growers Association. Iowa Corn Growers first effort at creating a trophy (below) was universally panned and David Ubben of ESPN called it, “the worst trophy in sports.” Even Iowa’s Governor Terry Brandstad criticized the first trophy saying, “I think they can do better. I’m sure they are going to take another look at that.”

The Cyclones won the last game between the two in triple overtime 41-44 at Trice Stadium in Ames, Iowa.  The new trophy will be awarded to the winner of the next Cy-Hawk game, September 8th at Kinnick Stadium in Iowa City, Iowa.

related posts